Skip to content

Dr. John Gumbo

Coming Soon!
Original price $36.29 - Original price $36.29
Original price $36.29
$36.29 - $36.29
Current price $36.29

Personnel: Dr. John (vocals, guitar, piano); Alvin Robinson (guitar, background vocals); Ken Klimak (guitar); Harold Battiste (clarinet, saxophone); Sidney George (harmonica, saxophone); Moe Bechamin (saxophone, background vocals); Lee Allen, David Lastie (saxophone); Melvin Lastie (cornet); Streamline (trombone); Ronnie Barron (piano, electric piano, organ, background vocals); Jimmy Calhoun (bass); Freddie Staehle (drums); Richard "Didimus" Washington (percussion); Shirley Goodman, Tami Lynn, Robbie Montgomery, Jessie Smith (background vocals).
Recorded at Sound City Studio, Van Nuys, California. Originally released on Atco. Includes liner notes by Mac "Dr. John" Rebennack.
After a series of albums which presented a unique mix of voodoo exotica and southern Louisiana funk grooves, Dr. John turned his sights on the rich heritage that informed his vision. The resultant GUMBO is a complete winner from start to finish.
Opening with "Iko Iko," which dates from the early '50s, he celebrates many of the prime musical influences of his youth in New Orleans; standards from the Crescent City songbook, with nods to key players such as Professor Longhair, Lee Allen, Huey Smith, and Earl King. He even records his own 1960 tune "Somebody Changed the Lock," as well as "Mess Around" by Atlantic Records founder Ahmet Ertegun (originally written for and recorded by Ray Charles). Produced by the complementary team of Jerry Wexler and New Orleans' own Harold Battiste, the music is rife with potent grooves in support of topflight songs. This album is an essential.

  • Released: 04/02/13
  • Format: Vinyl
  • Genre: Pop